There are five Church of England churches serving Hesket Parish, all of which fall within the diocese of Carlisle, at Armathwaite, Calthwaite, High Hesket, Ivegill and Plumpton. There is also a Methodist Chapel, situated between Calthwaite and Plumpton.
The Church of Christ and St Mary’s
The Church itself is a Grade II listed building. Built in the fifteenth century, it was extensively restored in both the seventeenth and early twentieth centuries. The Church houses several stained glass windows, in particular an unusual and attractive stained glass window dating from 1914 supplied by the William Morris Company. It also features a bespoke tapestry, sewn by local people in the late twentieth century.
All Saint’s Church
Built in 1913 from local Lazonby sandstone, the church was designed by local architect J H Martindale. Decorative stone and woodwork adorn the inside of the building, particularly to the roof, with a unique opera box stone pulpit attached to an interior wall.
St Mary the Virgin’s Church
High Hesket, Carlisle
The church is a Grade II listed building. Built in the early eighteenth century, incorporating the remains of a previous medieval church, there is believed to have been a church in the village since as early as 1340. The chancel dates from 1537, with the nave and aisle being rebuilt in the early 1700’s and the two storey porch later in the same century. In 2004, a replica of the large eighteenth century sundial which adorns the south wall of the nave was commissioned. In the church yard, there is a Grade II listed vault, belonging to the Parker family.
The church was built in 1868, largely of Ivegil stone, designed by local architects Wither and Putney. The church features an unusual polygonal bell-turret and buttress on the west wall. It also features several decorative stained glass windows as well as three elaborately carved oak panels. A Millennium Tapestry sewn in 2000 by parishioners depicting local scenes is displayed in the church.
St John the Evangelist Church
The church is Grade II listed. Built in 1907/8, it was designed by architect Robert Lorimer, and faced with local Lazonby Fell sandstone. It also features intricately carved oak furnishings to the interior. The Lych Gate entrance was built to match the materials of the church, and was erected as a war memorial to those who fell during the First World War, 1914-1918.
The Reverend David Sargent can be contacted on 017688 63000 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Details of services can be found here – St John the Evangelist, Plumpton.
Cottage Wood Centre
Formerly the Plumpton Backstreet Chapel, the chapel was first built in the early eighteenth century by Congregationalists. It was then taken over by Presbyterians and later Wesleyan, who eventually bought the chapel in the late 1800’s. Today it is still used as place of worship, and also as a local community centre.
Further details can be found on their website, cottagewood.co.uk.
Details of Church of England Churches are sourced from the Diocese of Carlisle website.
Details of Cottage Wood Centre are sourced from their website.
Photographs are reproduced with the kind permission of Martin and Jean Norgate of lakesguides.co.uk