PARISH COUNCIL MEETINGS for 2009/10 - Minutes to download here

Meetings are held bi-monthly in Low Hesket Village Hall at 7.30 pm, normally on the second Tuesday of the Month beginning with the Annual Meeting in May. Members of the public are always welcome and can, with prior arrangement with the clerk, address the meeting for a maximum of five minutes.


Councillors Register of Interest details can be found here

Armathwaite Ward
Mr J Dowes, Mrs C Steel, Mrs D Sisson, Mr A Sillitto
Calthwaite Ward
Mrs O Bell, Ms J Brooks, Mr B Davidson, Mrs E Martin, Mr D Porter
Southwaite Ward
Mrs S Bell, Mr Nigel Dean, Mr J Graves

District and County Councillors
Mr Tom Wentworth-Waites Cumbria County Council, Mrs L A Grisedale Eden District Council
Mrs Elaine Martin Eden Disrict Council


CHAIRPERSON Elaine Martin Tel - 07511 844842
VICE CHAIRPERSON Mrs Stella Bell 01697 473933
PARISH CLERK Amee Freeman 07789 811612

What do Parish Councils do?

Parish Councils operate with the aim of improving the quality of life and the local environment for all residents. They are elected every four years from people living in, or just outside the Parish, or having business interests there. They are required under the Local Government Act 1972 and other statutes to perform certain duties and have powers which they can exercise at their discretion.

The Quality Parish Scheme was launched by the Government in 2003 with the aim of providing a benchmark minimum standard for parish councils across the country. To become accredited a Parish Council must meet 10 different criteria. More information about Parish Councils can be found on the Cumbria Association of Local Councils website at